Men & Women

11 Chairs To Honour India’s Female Scientists To Be Set Up Across Country

Women scientists haven’t received the recognization that they deserve over the years. However, the government is planning to change the same. Ahead of the International Women’s Day, Ministries of Science and Technology and Women and Child Development have identified 11 women scientists in whose honour chairs will be set up at various institutions across the country.

The ministries have identified 11 early 20th-Century women for the honour. The fields of research range from organic chemistry to social sciences. Only Women researchers will be able to take up the chairs and also stand a chance to get a research fund of 1 crore as per a report by TOI.

11 Chairs To Honour India's Female Scientists

The fund is crucial as India is often criticised by researchers for not investing in research and development related programs. India spends only 0.7 per cent of its budget on research and development.

Also Read: This Guy Wanted To Take His Crush Out On A Date, So He Sent Her His ‘Dating Resume’

The 11 identified women scientists are – cytogeneticist Archana Sharma, botanist Janaki Ammal, organic scientist Darshan Ranganatham, chemist Asima Chatterjee, doctor Kadambini Ganguly, anthropologist Iravati Karve, meteorologist Anna Mani, engineer Rajeshwari Chatterjee, mathematician Raman Parimala, physicist Bibha Chowdhuri and biomedical researcher Kamal Ranadive.

Source –

Also Read: 18 Life Truths In Pie Charts That Will Help your Laugh Through Your Monday Blues

The chairs will not only honour the women scientists but also inspire young girls to aspire to become one of the greatest scientists. The 11 chairs will be set up for a period of 5 years and can be extended based on requirements.

Find Your Daily Dose of NEWS and Insights - Follow ViralBake on WhatsApp and Telegram

Related Articles

Back to top button

AdBlocker Detected

Please Disable Adblock To Proceed & Used This Website!