Dehradun And Rishikesh Railway Stations Set To Be Renamed, Creates Controversy

After Allahabad and Mughalsarai Dehradun and Rishikesh railway station are all set to get new names. In a bid to promote the use of Sanskrit in Uttarakhand, the Railways ministry has decided to rename the name of stations in Uttrakhand.

And in first Dehradun and Rishikesh are to be renamed. As per the new name, Dehradun railway station would become Dehradunam and Rishikesh would be renamed as Rishikeshah. However, this has attracted criticism from the public.

It all started when a local BJP leader wrote to railway officials in January. He asked why the names of the places on railway signboards were not in Sanskrit. As per railway manual names of places on such boards in the second official language. In the case of Uttarakhand, it is Sanskrit.

Recently the Dehradun railway station went under renovation for 3 months. When it opened last week the name of Dehradun railway station was written in Sanskrit as Dehradunam, along with Hindi and English. Other name changes included Doiwala railway station be named as ‘Doiwalah’ and a new railway station in Rishikesh as ‘Yog Nagari Rishikeshah’.

Also Read: Man Flashes ‘Penis’ At A Woman Inside Delhi Metro

Rajendra Kumar Singh, public relations officer for Izzatnagar railway division that manages the railway stations falling under the Kumaon region, said the names of stations would be written in Sanskrit after orders are received from railway headquarters. For more facts on the matter click here

Find Your Daily Dose of NEWS and Insights - Follow ViralBake on WhatsApp and Telegram

Related Articles

Back to top button

AdBlocker Detected

Please Disable Adblock To Proceed & Used This Website!