Everything You Need To know About ICC's World Test Championship - Viral Bake
Viral News

Everything You Need To know About ICC’s World Test Championship

Celebrations on the cricket field likely never end. There is always something brewing between the stumps to keep cricket fans hitched, and this time, it is the brand new World Test Championship.

Run by International Cricket Council (ICC), World Test Championship is a premier championship for Test cricket. Evidently, it’s a part of ICC’s goal to have at least one pinnacle tournament for each of the three formats.

The first phase of the World Test championship will commence with the inaugural of 2019 edition of Ashes from August 1 in Edgbaston. India and Sri Lanka will also be a part of the first leg of the championship when the former will play against West Indies and the latter will take on New Zealand in the coming months.

[Also Read: After Kohli, Rohit Sharma Unfollows Anushka On Instagram]

Brief Of How Test Championship Will Work

The two years-long Test series will see 9 of the 12 test playing nations competing against each other. Each team will play as many as six Test series against 6 of the 8 teams. This will include three home and three away series.

Each series will consist of 2-5 matches and a maximum of 120 points will be up for grab. At the end of the series, the top two teams with the highest points will qualify for the maiden test series final at Lord’s on June 2021.

test championship

Notably, the number of test matches a team plays will vary, thus the points a team will depend on the length of the series( 2-match series or 3-match, etc). Given above is the point system of the Test Championship.

Teams That Will Take Part

The top nine teams in the ICC Test rankings will all be a part of this Test championship. Teams include India, New Zealand, South Africa, England, Australia, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, West Indies and Bangladesh. Afghanistan and Ireland teams will not be a part of the championship.

[Also Read: Virat Kohli Praises These Three Young Crickets]

ViralBake Telegram

India’s Schedule

World Test Championship

Team India under Kohli’s captaincy will play six series as a part of the World Test Championship. As there is no bilateral series being played against Pakistan due to obvious reasons, India will not play a bilateral series against the neighbours.

To Conclude

Notably, the World Test championship will be the first test series where players will sport their jersey numbers. As per the reports, the Indian players will opt for their limited over jersey numbers. The series is an effort by ICC to promote Test cricket among the youth.

Related Articles

Back to top button

AdBlocker Detected

Please Disable Adblock To Proceed & Used This Website!