Adding to its security features, Facebook has revealed a new feature that allows anyone to lock their profile to ensure no one, other than your friends, can take a peek into their photos and posts.
Once the profile is locked, other users, will only see profile image of you — personal images, albums all those would be hidden from the world. Users can neither share or download images from your profile.
Ankhi Das, Public Policy Director, Facebook India says, “We are committed to providing a safe platform for people to express themselves. We are deeply aware of the concerns people in India, particularly women, have about protecting their online profile. Today, we are announcing a new feature which, in one easy step, will give people a lot more control, ensure their privacy and keep them safe and secure online.”
Any posts made by a user with locked profile will be hidden. However, this doesn’t mean they can’t be tagged in pictures. They can be tagged but the picture and post won’t appear on their profile until they allow it.
Ranjana Kumari, Director, Centre for Social Research said in a statement, “We have often heard from young girls that they are hesitant to share about themselves online and are intimidated by the idea of someone misusing their information. I am very happy to see that Facebook is making efforts to learn about their concerns and building products that can give them the experience they want. This new safety feature will give women, especially young girls a chance to express themselves freely.”
The feature is being slowly rolled out for everyone.