Google is most popular search engine that also provides internet related products and services. Some of the popular products and services are Gmail, Drive, Forms, Sheets and Calendar.
Why is Google sending a message?
Google Drive is a tool that is popular among its users for storage, sharing and syncing files across devices. The tool provides cloud storage to its users of 15 GB with no charges.
This internet tool like any other tools has its own pros and cons. Spammers and cybercriminals use Drive to store malicious content.
Experts have been working on the issue since long time.
Google has intent of not only flagging files with malwares and spams. It has been working to identify files that contain contents with violence, hate speech and sexually explicit material. When user signs up at Google, it tells about not uploading and sharing such content. However, users still find a way to store and share such content.
What is the message?
In a post Google Workspace revealed that if any file will be found violating company’s terms and conditions it will be restricted. “When a Drive file is identified as violating Google’s Terms of Service or Program Policies, it may be restricted. When it’s restricted, you may see a flag next to the filename, you won’t be able to share it, and your file will no longer be publicly accessible, even to people who have the link.”
The company’s post further said, “Now, the owner of the item in Google Dive will receive an email notifying them of the action taken, and alerting them of how to request a review of the restriction if they think it is a mistake. For items in shared drives, the shared drive manager will receive the notification.”
Company sends this message as an alert to all its users.
This step will make Google Drive a safe space.
If Google accidentally flags your important file what will happen?
In such case, you can submit a review request to the company and retrieve your file.