Exploring Gujarat’s Steam Heritage: Ekta Nagar-Ahmedabad Special Train Schedule and Features

On the occasion of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel’s birth anniversary, Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched the first heritage train in his home state of Gujarat. The train will run between Ahmedabad and Ekta Nagar railway station, which links to the Statue of Unity in Kevadia. The non-stop steam train has began its services on November 5 and will run every Sunday.

According to the Western Railway, the Ekta Nagar railway station provides train access to Gujarat’s Statue of Unity. The station serves a huge number of tourists who come from all across the country to see the monument. The Steam Heritage Special Train will be an additional convenience for passengers, providing them with an experience of the bygone period of steam engines.

Gujarat Steam Heritage Special Train: Timings and Fare

  • The regular service of Train No. 09409/09410 Ahmedabad-Ekta Nagar Steam Heritage Special Train commenced on November 5, 2023, according to Western Railway authorities.
  • Every Sunday, the Train No. 09409 Ahmedabad-Ekta Nagar train will depart from Ahmedabad at 6:10 a.m. and arrive at Ekta Nagar station at 9:50 a.m.
  • Train No. 09410 Ekta Nagar-Ahmedabad Steam Heritage Special Train would depart Ekta Nagar at 8:35 p.m. every Sunday and arrive in Ahmedabad at 12:05 a.m.
  • This 182-kilometer trip from Ekta Nagar to Ahmedabad will be nonstop. This route will have a one-way charge of Rs 885. This does not include any food, which may be purchased from the dining car’s pantry.

Booking Details

Bookings for the train are now available at all passenger reservation system (PRS) counters and on the IRCTC’s official website. However, the trains’ Advance Reservation Period (ARP) will be 30 days.

Special Train for Gujarat Steam Heritage: Key Features

The Steam Heritage Special Train is a duplicate of the first steam locomotive manufactured in the United States, No. F734. Aside from its unique and nostalgic appearance, the vintage special train is also fully equipped with new interiors and sumptuous facilities that will make the passengers’ journey unforgettable.

It is made up of four air-conditioned Vistadome-style coaches, three executive chair car coaches, and a restaurant dining car.

The interiors of the coaches are wooden, with teakwood dining tables and couches for seating in the dining carriage. The panoramic windows provide travelers with a vista to remember on their journey.

Gujarat's Steam Heritage

Other characteristics similar to TEJAS Express include GPS-based public address and passenger information system (PAPIS), electronically operated automated compartment sliding doors, flameless pantry, FRP modular restrooms, and baggage rack layouts.

PM Modi launched Rajasthan’s first vintage train, the vintage Special-Marwar Express from Jodhpur, earlier this month on October 5. Rajasthan’s heritage train runs between Marwar Junction Railway Station in Pali district and Kamlighat Railway Station in Rajsamand district.

Find Your Daily Dose of NEWS and Insights - Follow ViralBake on WhatsApp and Telegram

Stuti Talwar

Expressing my thoughts through my words. While curating any post, blog, or article I'm committed to various details like spelling, grammar, and sentence formation. I always conduct deep research and am adaptable to all niches. Open-minded, ambitious, and have an understanding of various content pillars. Grasp and learn things quickly.

Related Articles

Back to top button

AdBlocker Detected

Please Disable Adblock To Proceed & Used This Website!