Instagram comes with many privacy features. It helps users in controlling their accounts and restricts unwanted people from interacting. Some of the features hide likes and comments and some control who can tag and mention you on Instagram. Users can also hide their activity status on the app. However, here are Instagram’s 5 privacy features that will make your Instagram account more private.
5 Instagram Features You Can Enable Now
1. Restricted accounts
Users can find a feature named “Restricted Accounts” in Settings. This setting allows you to restrict any person without getting them block or un-follow. The company says that it does not notify that particular person when you restrict their account.
Once you enable this feature, that particular person won’t be able to see when you’re online or if you’ve read their messages. Also, you can review the comments of the accounts you select. While restricting an account, Instagram gives an option to decide whether you want everyone to see comments from the restricted account.
You will find a “Mentions” section in the privacy section, from where you can turn off to mention their comments, stories, captions, and live videos. To enable this feature, simply choose the “People you follow” feature.
3. Remove followers
Instagram says if you set your account to private then you will find an option to remove contacts from your follower list instead of blocking them.
To enable this feature, simply open the app and click on the bottom of your profile picture. After this, tap on the “Followers,” section and tap on the “remove” button. Instagram says that it won’t notify followers when you remove them.
4. Activity status
On Instagram, people you interact with directly or follow can see the active and last seen status on the app. Now, Instagram allows turning off the status of your activity. To do this, simply go to the settings option and tap on Privacy and then hit on Account Status to disable it.
5. Hide likes, turn off comments
Instagram allows you to hide likes and turn off comments after you post anything on this app. Just tap on the three-dotted button that is located on a post’s top right corner. Then, you get a menu, where you will see the options to hide likes and comments.