Uttar Pradesh Government To Rename Eight Railway Stations

The Union Ministry of Home Affairs has approved the Uttar Pradesh government’s proposal to rename eight railway stations in Amethi district after local temples, saints, idols, and independence warriors, according to the reports.

Smriti Irani, a BJP Amethi MP, initiated the initiative, which aims to preserve the region’s cultural identity and traditions. Irani showed her happiness, saying, “Virasat bhi, Vikas bhi…” I am pleased to tell you that it has been agreed to modify the names of eight railway stations in Amethi Lok Sabha constituency. This judgment would help to preserve the cultural character and traditions of Amethi.”

The proposal, submitted by the government on February 12, proposes renaming Kasimpur halt as Jais City and several intermediate stations as Guru Gorakhnath Dham, Bani as Swami Paramhans, Misrauli as Maa Kalikan Dham, Nihalgarh as Maharaja Bijli Pasi, Akbarganj as Maa Ahorwa Bhawani Dham, Warisganj as Amar Shahid Bhale Sultan, and Fursatganj as Tapeshwarnath Dham.

Ram Prasad Mishra, district head of the BJP’s Amethi branch, emphasized the long-standing desire to rename railway stations in Amethi after local businesses. He stated, “Kasimpur stop railway station was called after Kasimpur hamlet, which is far away from the station. Given the area’s mostly Muslim population, calling it Jais City was recommended.”

He goes on to say, “The current Jais railway station is surrounded by ashrams, notably Guru Gorakhnath Dham ashram, hence the proposal to rename it after the ashram.” Mishra stressed the religious significance of the areas surrounding Bani, Misrauli, Akbarganj, and Fursatganj railway stations, prompting calls to rename them accordingly.

He continued, “The administration intends to encourage religious tourism in Amethi, with funding allocations planned for the near future. Renaming the stations is only the first step.” Nihalgarh railway station will be renamed Maharaja Bijli Pasi to commemorate the area’s main Pasi population, which farms jujubes.

Warisganj railway station, which is recognized for Bhale Sultan’s courage in resisting British control in 1857, would be renamed Amar Shahid Bhale Sultan. Rekha Sharma, Senior Divisional Commercial Manager of NR (Lucknow division), remarked that “CRIS will soon update the new names of stations.” The state PWD department is anticipated to provide NOC for station renaming soon.”

Find Your Daily Dose of NEWS and Insights - Follow ViralBake on WhatsApp and Telegram

Stuti Talwar

Expressing my thoughts through my words. While curating any post, blog, or article I'm committed to various details like spelling, grammar, and sentence formation. I always conduct deep research and am adaptable to all niches. Open-minded, ambitious, and have an understanding of various content pillars. Grasp and learn things quickly.

Related Articles

Back to top button

AdBlocker Detected

Please Disable Adblock To Proceed & Used This Website!