WhatsApp has now officially announced the ‘View Once’ feature. Photos or videos send under the View Once the feature gets disappear from the chat after they are opened. This feature gives more control over privacy.
“After the media has been viewed, the message will appear as opened to avoid any confusion about what was happening in the chat at the time,” — WhatsApp said in its blog post.
View Once Feature
1. Media do not save to the recipient’s Gallery.
2. Once the photo or video is sent, the recipient won’t be able to view it again.
3. You can’t save, forward, star, or share the shared media with the view once enabled.
4. The sender can only see if the recipient has opened a view once photo or video if they have read receipts turned on.
5. If you don’t open the media within 14 days of it being sent, the media will expire from the chat.
6. View once media can be restored from backup if the message is unopened at the time of backup.
WhatsApp users may note that if some take the screenshot of the media before it disappears then you won’t be notified.
How You Can Send View Once Media?
1. Open an individual or group chat and select the photo or video you want to send.
2. You can also open the camera to take a new photo or video.
3. Click on the “1” option which will be visible to you as soon as you attach the media to send.
4. Click on the sent tab.