Presidential Elections 2022- Droupadi Murmu Becomes 15th President

Droupadi Murmu has won the Presidential elections in 2022 and is all set to become the 15th President of India. She is the former governor of Jharkhand and was the choice of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

India Gets Its 15th President Droupadi Murmu

Presidential Elections 2022- Droupadi Murmu Becomes President

The democratic republic of India has got its new President, Droupadi Murmu. She is the first tribal president of India. She got more than 60% votes out of the total vote value and defeated opposition Yashwant Sinha after three rounds of counting. She will take oath on July 25, 2022.MsMurmu got 64.03% of the total vote value after three rounds of counting. Yashwant Sinha ended up with 35.97%. Ms. Murmu received 2,824 votes with a value of 6,76,803 while Mr. Sinha received 1,877 votes with a value of 3,80,177. The value required for winning is 5,43,000.

Yashwant Sinha Congratulates Droupadi Murmu

Presidential Elections 2022- Droupadi Murmu Becomes President

Opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha stated, “I heartily congratulate Srimati Droupadi Murmu on her victory in the Presidential Election 2022. I hope — indeed, every Indian hopes — that as the 15th President of India she functions as the Custodian of the Constitution without fear or favor. I join my fellow countrymen in extending best wishes to her,”.Ms. Murmu hails from Rairangpur in Orissa. Opposition leaders, including Congress chief Sonia Gandhi, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, and NCP chief Sharad Pawar also congratulated her on the victory.

PM Modi Tweets

Prime Minister Narendra Modi took it to Twitter and congratulated the new President in a series of tweets. He also shared pictures of meeting with Ms. Murmu.”Smt. Droupadi Murmu Ji has been an outstanding MLA and Minister. She had an excellent tenure as Jharkhand Governor. I am certain she will be an outstanding President who will lead from the front and strengthen India’s development journey,” PM Modi tweeted.

“Smt. Droupadi Murmu Ji’s life, her early struggles, her rich service and her exemplary success motivates each and every Indian. She has emerged as a ray of hope for our citizens, especially the poor, marginalized and the downtrodden.” another tweet by PM read.

Droupadi Murmu’s win is being observed as a historic one for the tribal community. Aged 64, Miss Murmu is the first president of India born after Independence.

Also read,

India’s 15th President Will Be Declared Today, 10 Points To Know

About Presidential Elections

The winner of the Presidential election is not the one who gets only the most votes, but the one who crosses a quota. The ‘quota’ is determined by adding votes polled for each candidate, dividing by two, and adding ‘1’ to it. It is one more than 50 percent. If someone does not cross this at first, subsequent preferences marked on the ballot paper come into action. 

Find Your Daily Dose of NEWS and Insights - Follow ViralBake on WhatsApp and Telegram

Anu Kumari

An avid reader who embraces imperfections and loves story-telling.

Related Articles

Back to top button

AdBlocker Detected

Please Disable Adblock To Proceed & Used This Website!