Previously, we heard the feature called expiring media, better known as view once: photos and videos sent using this mode can only be viewed once. Also, the view once photos and videos disappear from the chat after you dismiss the photo or the video.
Will Cathcart and Mark Zuckerberg confirmed to WABetaInfo that this feature is to be introduced on WhatsApp very soon earlier and now the wait has been over.
Now, the question is “How to verify if the feature is already enabled for your WhatsApp account? It is quite simple. All you need is to check whether there is a view once button when sharing the media:
When you send photos and videos using view once, they can only be viewed once, and you’re notified when the recipient has opened them:
What You Should Know?
In case, if you disable read receipts, the recipient can still see if you have opened the photo or video set to view once, but you cannot see when the recipient opens yours. In the case of WhatsApp groups, you can see when other participants open expiring photos even if you have disabled read receipts.
The recipient might save the photo or video taking screenshots or video captures, and WhatsApp won’t notify you because there isn’t a screenshot detection: be careful!
Also, you are free to share videos and photos set to view once in groups, and you can see who opened them in Message Info.
Blocked contacts in common groups can still open those photos and videos.
If you send a photo using view once to people that haven’t this feature enabled, the view once feature will still work and they can only view it once.